DSC_0149I was in Newcastle for the whole period of the holidays. Best. Decision. Ever. Although I’m starting to feel slightly homesick and there was a small temptation to go home for Christmas, it seemed weird to do that and then have to come back for 2 and a half weeks and then go home again. So instead, my boyfriend came here for two weeks and we had a great time. I got to show him all my favorite places and discovered new ones. We had a great time with my housemate and her boyfriend, who I hope will both come visit us in Sweden soon. It was a half Swedish, half British Christmas, the best of two worlds. Me and my boyfriend cooked Swedish food and had crackers. Oh crackers…I intend to order a box of crackers from the Internet next Christmas. They are basically “things” (for lack of a better word), that two people pull at each end, and when they break the part in the middle remains attached to only one side. Whoever is holding that side, gets to keep the “loot”. There are basically small puzzles, key rings, and small stuff like that. All crackers have a Christmas paper hat you wear at the table and a short joke. My favorite was “ What do you call a boomerang that doesn’t come back? A stick”. He he he.

DSC_0128

My housemate, Laura, and my boyfrend, who is very focused on getting his hands on the cracker’s contents.

We saw Pantomime at the Theatre Royal. It was simply amazing- the most hilarious thing I saw in my life. My whole face was hurting from the laughter. We saw “ Jack and the Beanstalk”. The Royal exceeded my expectations in every way. It’s probably the last play I will see at the Royal Theatre (this year at least) and I have reserved a separate post for this magnificent theatre.   More info on the history of panto here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pantomime#United_Kingdom_and_Ireland

My housemate survived food poisoning. The mighty curry got her right on Christmas Eve. But she made it out alive and she is stronger now, if only afraid of curry I suspect.

DSC_0090 (2)We all survived the storm that Leo was. Leo is a golden doodle puppy that finds it very difficult to sit still. He constantly played with my housemate’s dogs, jumped, pooped, peed (more like a flood), barked, chewed furniture, and got away with everything because he is so cute. I mean look at him. Just look at him. Awww….

I returned to my favorite place in the whole wide world: Alnwick bookshop. The thought that it will be a long time until I get to go there again makes me really sad… But I have precious memories of that place. I dream to retire in Alnwick and go to the bookshop every day. I really do.

 

DSC_0251We went to the Tynemouth Market, where we meet the talented and passionate people of “ Turn it Up”, who make amazing things out of wood. They told us about their work and the little oak saucer we bought from them (basically the tree had a nail in it a long time ago, around which it kept growing, therefore leaving a dark bluish mark in the wood, beautifully visible now in our little saucer).The saucer is already in Sweden, where me and my boyfriend intend to share its story with everyone who takes a look at it. They were also very nice to want to take a pic with me, which I’m very happy to share. I think my exchange experience can’t get better than this and then I meet these people. A very hard to forget day and people.

Their Facebook page is here: https://www.facebook.com/kjturnitup   If you every have the opportunity to go to the Tynemouth Market please stop by their stand and take a look at their amazing craft.

Now all the fun time is over and I’m trying to get back on track with studying. I have two essay deadlines coming my way on the 16th and 17th January. Then I have a sit-in exam on the 23rd that I am somewhat terrified of, and a last essay on the 23rd. And then I’m off to Sweden where I will start writing my BA thesis. And missing England. And missing my housemate and her dogs. Well this escalated fast….

About Cristina

Book worm extraordinaire!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment